you are a f***ing Ironman…

Well what can I say, I thought I was prepared for this race, I thought 10-12hrs per week cycling would be enough and my I was wrong…  I rode the course during the week leading up to the race but nothing could prepare me for the winds that gusted 50kpmh in places.

On the positive side… for many years I attended a particular swim squad and my swim times just never improved.  Thanks to Lynn and the team at GI, I improved my swim, breaking my PB by over 6 minutes in far from ideal conditions.

The bike ride was spectacular, but one rider who had been battling the headwinds with me for hours turned to me at one point when we were pretty damn tired and said “ah well only 100km and a marathon to go” and that sort of summed up the day for me.

When I finally dismounted the bike, my left foot was blistered.  Walking through transition was painfull and the thought of attempting 42km was pure lunacy.  That damn Ironman creed of “fight to finish” came back to me and I was determined to see if it was going to be possible to finish.  I walked the first 1km multipled it by 42 and worked out I would come in around 16:30, so I thought what the hell…  Try walking 42km at a brisk pace, it aint easy, add the heat, the tired legs and a blister that makes every step painfull and you know you have a battle on your hands.

I had time to reflect whilst marching the 42km on the three most annoying calls you get from the crowd.

  1. “Come on.. only xx to go” (do they think for one moment we have no idea how far to go)
  2. “Looking Good” (I was really at the point of smacking the next person to say that)
  3. “Pick it up” (do they really think we enjoy going so slow)

What ever happened to “Well Done”, “Great Stuff” etc…   Here’s a few piccies…

In my life my priorities are my wife, my children, my friends, my work and then training (in that very specific order) and I take no shame in spending more time on things up the priority list, but nevertheless, I could do better.  Still a special moment for my Mother and Father to be there to pick me up at the end.  I was quite ill after the race and the full extent of what I had put my body through soon hit home.

Anyway, I took on the toughest Ironman on the circuit (many mutliple Lanzarotte finishers said it was the hardest they had competed in) and it nearly killed me, but I fought to the finish and claimed my medal, a medal that means far more than any before it.

SWIM 1:11:21 (1:52/100m)   [winner 1:15/100m]
T1: SWIM-TO-BIKE 6:24      [winner 2:40]
BIKE 8:18:26 (21.67 km/h)   [winner 37.26 km/h]
T2: BIKE-TO-RUN 8:11         [winner 2:49]
RUN 6:56:43 (9:52/km)        [winner 3:57/km]
OVERALL 16:41:05
RANK 1197/1472
DIV.POS. 183

About Lardman

"Lardman" (aka Jose Luis Fowler) is a 45 year old businessman, who runs and owns one of Aucklands premier computer development companies ( Four Acres Limited ) and he is rarely away from his computer desk. "Lardman" is happily married to Sally, his wife of 15 years and they have three children, George (13), Estafana (11) and Prudence (8). Sally is a keen runner herself and is often found pounding the pavements of Mt.Eden having herself ran 3 marathons in the last twelve months. "Lardman" is also the inspiration behind his wife's catering business "Cook at Home Paella" "Lardman" is an Auckland Rugby Referee, so supplements his training running up and down the pitch after Rugby Players. "Lardman" is also currently chairperson of the Eden Park Residents Association so with the RWC2011 and the developments at Eden Park he is kept busy during what little spare time he has. "Lardman" was born in Meriden, England (the heart of England, middle of The Midlands and the furthest point away from the sea) on 7th November 1965 and migrated to New Zealand with his family in December 1999 as has never looked back. The entire family are now NZ citizens and regard New Zealand as their home. "Lardman" had never participated in a Multi-Sport event before and since running a marathon in 1982 had not ran any significant distance, but is nevertheless looks forward to a challenge.
This entry was posted in Ironman Spain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

